Is The Weleda Skin Food Range Good For Eczema, Acne & Spot Prone Skin? A Review Of The Original Skin Food, Skin Food Light, Cleansing Balm, Body Lotion & Butter

In the last couple of years I’ve been hit by eczema, all year round, typically in the creases of my elbows. Since the winter eczema has attacked my hands which I’m sure you can imagine is a real pain in the backside. My face is combination, spot prone. This post includes reference to some gifted products which were kindly sent to me with no obligation to review.

Is Weleda Skin Food Good For Eczema?

I can obviously only speak from my own personal experience, but in short, yes. I have used several of their products on my eczema prone arms and hands. As the products smell so beautiful they actively encourage and remind me to use them. Other eczema friendly products I’ve used have largely been unscented or more boring which means I don’t reach for them as regularly, or I simply enjoy using them much less. The strong scent hasn’t ever caused any discomfort or stinging when I’ve applied the pr0ducts, even when the skin on my knuckles has been a little split and bleeding.

My least favourite from the Skin Food range would have to be the body butter purely because it was so thick I often found it a bit of a struggle to rub it in. However; the body lotion was an absolute delight that I’ll absolutely be replacing. I’ve seen the body lotion on Boots £10 Tuesday several times so it is possible to get a great bargain on the product. I’ve also used the classic Skin Food and Skin Food Light on my arms and hands. I prefer the texture of the Skin Food Light on my hands through the day as it soaks in that bit more quickly meaning I can just crack on with things.

Is Weleda Skin Food Good For Spot Prone Skin?

I initially emptied an entire tube of Skin Food on my face and had no issues with breakouts. I thought I enjoyed it until I opened the Skin Food Light which I found to be not greasy at all. The original formula can feel quite heavy and I wouldn’t use it on my face now. My personal preference for a thicker, heavy moisturiser for my face which doesn’t cause breakouts would have to be the Cetaphil Rich Night Cream over the original Skin Food formula.

I wouldn’t reach for either the original or light versions in warmer weather, for me they’re much more of a winter product. The more that time has gone on the more I’ve preferred to use the products on my body.

The Cleansing Balm I really enjoy. It has that signature, trademark scent and comes out of the aluminium tube in a clear, slightly tacky blob that holds its shape. It breaks makeup down with ease, feels lovely to use, the scent adds a feeling of luxury whilst only costing £13 for 75ml. It rinses off easily. I wouldn’t describe the texture as smooth and buttery. It isn’t lumpy, but it is on the thicker side and needs a bit more gentle rubbing to manipulate the product. I do wish that the product came in a tub but I’ll forgive it as the aluminium tube it comes in is infinitely recyclable!

My favourite is absolutely the Body Lotion or Skin Food Light which I can’t really tell apart, followed by the Cleansing Balm.

Leave a comment